The Republic of Ghana
The Centre of the World
Gateway to Africa, the land of Gold

Ghana fans cheer their team during their African Nations Cup Group B soccer match against Mali at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabet
+ 22
National Theater Accra illuminated
Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park Accra

Ghana, officially the Republic of Ghana, is a unitary presidential constitutional democracy, located along the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean, in the sub-region of West Africa. Spanning a land mass of 238,535 km2 (92,099 sq mi), Ghana is bordered by the Ivory Coast in the west, Burkina Faso in the north, Togo in the east and the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean in the south. Ghana means “Warrior King” in the Soninke language.

The first permanent state in the territory of present-day Ghana dates back to the 11th century. Numerous kingdoms and empires emerged over the centuries, of which the most powerful was the Kingdom of Ashanti. Beginning in the 15th century, numerous European powers contested the area for trading rights, with the British ultimately establishing control of the coast by the late 19th century. Following over a century of native resistance, Ghana’s current borders were established by the 1900s as the British Gold Coast. It became independent of the United Kingdom on 6 March 1957.

Ghana’s population of approximately 28 million spans a variety of ethnic, linguistic and religious groups. Five percent of the population practices traditional faiths, 67.2% adhere to Christianity and 23.6% are Muslim. Its diverse geography and ecology ranges from coastal savannahs to tropical rain forests.

Ghana is a democratic country led by a president who is both head of state and head of the government. Ghana’s growing economic prosperity and democratic political system have made it a regional power in West Africa. It is a member of the Non-Aligned Movement, the African Union, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Group of 24 (G24) and the Commonwealth of Nations.

Facts and checks

Administrative Divisions

Ghana is divided into 10 administrative regions, sub-divided into 275 districts

Regions of Ghana Area (km2) Regional capitals
Ashanti Region 24,389 Kumasi
Brong-Ahafo Region 39,557 Sunyani
Central Region 9,826 Cape Coast
Eastern Region 19,323 Koforidua
Greater Accra Region 3,245 Accra
Northern Region 70,384 Tamale
Upper East Region 8,842 Bolgatanga
Upper West Region 18,476 Wa
Volta Region 20,570 Ho
Western Region 23,941 Sekondi-Takoradi


As of 2016, Ghana had a population of 28,206,728. Around 29 percent of the population is under the age of 15, while persons aged 15-64 make up 57.8 percent of the population. The Ashanti Region had the most, (Akan) (Ashanti) (4.7 million in Ashanti, 2.3 million in Brong-Ahafo, 2.2 million in Central, 2.6 million in Eastern, 2.3 million in Western, and 4 million in the seat of government in Greater Accra geographically and legally part of Eastern then administered separately on 23 July 1982). As of 2010, 4.1 million persons reside in the Dagbani territories or Kingdom of Dagbon (2.4 million in Northern, 1 million in Upper East, and 0.7 million in Upper West).

As of 2010, 2.1 million persons reside in Ewe territory Volta.


There are eleven languages that have the status of government-sponsored languages:

  • Ga,
  • four are Akan ethnic languages (Asante Twi, Akuapem Twi, Mfantse and Nzema),
  • two are Mole-Dagbani ethnic languages (Dagaare, Dagbanli and Hausa language).
  • Ewe,
  • Dangme,
  • Guan,
  • and Kasem.

Ghana map with regions

Harmonious Destination

Freedom is not something that one people can bestow on another as a gift. Thy claim it as their own and none can keep it from them.

— Kwame Nkrumah

Contact Information

WeRecruit Ghana Limited

  • www.werecruit.com.gh
  • info@werecruit.com.gh
  • +233 209622290 | +233 209622292 | +233 302909057
  • House Number 6, Dr. Isent Road, Scott House North Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Download resources
  • Registration form
  • Instructional manual